Levin Receives John Bates Clark Medal

NBER Research Associate Jonathan D. Levin received the American Economics Association's John Bates Clark Medal for 2011. This annual award recognizes the American economist under the age of 40 who has made the most substantial contribution to economic thought and knowledge. This year's prize highlights Levin’s research contributions on contracting, the organization and design of markets, sub-prime lending, and the design of empirical methods for studying imperfect competition.

Levin is a faculty member at Stanford University and a member of the NBER's Industrial Organization Program. He received a B.A in English and a B.S. in Mathematics from Stanford University in 1994, an M. Phil. in Economics from Oxford University in 1996, and a Ph.D. in Economics from MIT in 1999. Levin was appointed a Faculty Research Fellow at the NBER in 2005 and he was promoted to Research Associate in 2008.

Other current NBER Research Associates who have received the Clark Medal include Daniel McFadden, Martin S. Feldstein, Joseph E. Stiglitz, James J. Heckman, Jerry A. Hausman, Sanford J. Grossman, Paul R. Krugman, Lawrence H. Summers, David Card, Kevin M. Murphy, Andrei Shleifer, Steven Levitt, Daron Acemoglu, Susan C. Athey, Emmanuel Saez, and Esther Duflo. Gary Becker, who was an NBER affiliate from 1957 until 1979, also won the Clark Medal, as did the late Milton Friedman and Zvi Griliches, both of whom were NBER affiliates for substantial parts of their careers.

National Bureau of Economic Research
1050 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02138

Twitter RSS

View Full Site: One timeAlways